Cube Nets

cubenets
Cube Nets

That was fun!  I did ok with this activity …. in 5 minutes I got 23 out of 24 correct.  All nets must have 6 “pieces” or sides to fold up to make a cube and the sides cannot all be in a line, at least 2 must be arranged on another line graph.  Nets with squares all in a row will not work because it will not provide for a top and/or bottom.  Also, nets with cubes that are in a cube will not work because it will not be able to fold up to cover all sides.  Without folding is there a quick way to tell if a net will work?  Well, I couldn’t fold the figures that we worked with on-line, so yes.  But, I’m not sure how.  I suppose one must just need to picture the squares and fold them in your head.

Katie, how did you do with this?  I know that Sunee was so good with the 3-dimensional figures at our table last week.  I wonder how she did with this too.

Leave a Reply

