For Further Consideration …..

I created 5 addition/subtraction problems for Olivia (1st grade).  I provided counting bears, Unifix blocks, traditional math counters, markers, crayons, graph paper, and plain paper.  Olivia chose to use only markers and not any of the manipulatives.  With each problem, I asked her what she was doing and why.  She was very thoughtful in her work and took her time.  The only problem that she could not solve correctly was the last comparison problem (and the toughest one):  Olivia has 1 sister.  Lily has 2 sisters.  Lily has how many more sisters than Olivia?  Olivia “figured” 2 with her work.  But, then when I read the question part again “Lily has how many more sisters than you?”  She immediately said 1.  I was not surprised as I picked a friend of her’s and the problem information was true to life.  So, she knew in her mind that she has 1 more sister than her friend.  But I was surprised that knowing this, she missed the problem.  Did she was read the problem wrong or have a misunderstanding with what should be solved?  Something just didn’t work out right in her thinking.  I wish I knew what she was thinking and where the confusion was.  We talked about it and tried to find out what happened, but we couldn’t come up with anything.  Thanks for the help Olivia!

Leave a Reply

