Erikson Videos

Counting Teens and Twenties with Child 14 – When the facilitator asks the boy what comes after 12, he must go back to the beginning and count from 1 again.  Also, he does this to find out what comes after 13 after he had just counted to 12.  He can rote count but can’t remember where he left off and what the numbers mean in sequence; I have seen this in K and even 1st and it confirms what I already knew.  However, I found it very surprising that he was not confident in his counting abilities; he said he could only count to 10, then proceeded to count all the way to 30 …… I wonder why he lacked confidence?  And, I am saddened by that.

Using Number Paths with Child 9 – She confirmed what I thought that young children know their numbers in order and could recognize numbers above or below when she was asked “is there any way you can figure this out.”

Decade Pattern with Child 7 – So, this child has great rote counting skills and can even successfully count up to 100.  But then when asked what comes after 100, he says 200.  Yes 200 does come along later.  I was surprised that he had such great counting skills that he wouldn’t automatically apply that knowledge to counting between 100 and 200.  He is missing the concept that there are another 99 numbers between where he is and 200.

One-to-One Correspondence with Child 18 – In this video, the child cannot count on.  She can only make a one-to-one correspondence with each block.  Upon adding a block, she must start over and recount all the blocks.  I found this surprising that she would keep doing this.  I also had to investigate what “cardinality” meant because I wasn’t sure.  It means giving a number quantity to something, i.e. how many children are in the room?, how many blocks are in the set?  Here are a few sites explaining the common core standard and what it means:

http://www.corestandards.org/Math/Content/K/CC/

https://gradekcommoncoremath.wikispaces.hcpss.org/KCC4

Parts and Wholes with Child 15 – I was surprised that the child could not identify the number of bears that were hiding.  But, I wasn’t surprised once the child understood what the “game” was, she did a great job of telling how many bears were hiding.  When is was made into a game and was FUN, she was engaged and paying attention and could absolutely figure out the “missing” number.  I was especially impressed when she identified that all bears were hiding!  I know that engagement is key to learning and when a lesson can be more “fun” or engaging, the student is much more apt to pay attention and participate.

I watched a few more of the videos.  It was great to see what children know and how they learn.  I really enjoyed these:

Recognizing Quantity with Child 1 – The girl could quickly identify the smaller numbers.  I was not surprised that young children could identify smaller numbers quickly because they have probably been doing it throughout their life – how many cookies do you want?

Estimating Quantity with Child 8 – I was surprised that the instructor had the child estimate from a “counted” 3 in this way; this was great to see as I never would have thought to do this.  She answered 6, which was really close as it was 7.  But then when a whole cup of the blocks was dumped, the child was overwhelmed by choosing a number and chose a “bunch” then 1,000 when asked to attach a number to a bunch.

Recognizing Shapes with Child 13 – I knew that the student would identify the square differently from the rectangle because I had already seen her identify circle and triangles and her understanding was super even though she did not use sophisticated language to explain her reasoning ….. her understanding was definitely there.  But I was really surprised that the instructor would talk about a square being a special rectangle to a child at such a young age because I would have thought that it might confuse them.

Composing Shapes with Child 12 – I thought the child would use the triangles to make the 6-point star with a hexagon in the middle.  It was wonderful to see and hear her excitement.  Then when the teacher asked her to make the star starting with the red  trapezoid I was really surprised that the child was not daunted at all …. she just found a spot for it to fit and moved on!

Daily Attendance Chart with Child 27 – I was surprised that the student recognized the attendance chart as “math.”  And I was really surprised that he went on to interpret the data by saying that some days more kids stay home than others “sometimes kids come and sometimes kids don’t come.”

Using Number Paths with Child 7 – Some times the students could identify the number above or below very quickly.  But other times he had trouble but was looking around.  I was surprised that he looked around the room while he was thinking instead of looking at the number line and working with that information.  I was really surprised that this child was recognizing large numbers so well at such a young age.

Katie – I really enjoyed watching “Parts and Whole.”  I think that young girl was just guessing and not interested/engaged at the beginning when asked how many bears had run away.  But, then when it became a “game” and the girl wanted to figure out “who was missing” she shined.  

What was the video that you related to the most or learn the most from?

Leave a Reply

