Student Assessment Using 4-Point Rubric

Four-Point Rubric:

Full Accomplishment:

  • Kevin
  • Maurio
  • Oloed

Proficient Accomplishment:

  • Andrea P.
  • Nicole
  • Sendy
  • Gregory (note that he worked many problems equaling 20)

Partial Accomplishment:

  • Bailey

Little Accomplishment:

  • Joshua
  • Andrea D.

Amazing Equations:

  • Kevin:
    • Organization of Info:
    • Math Accuracy: 4
    • Explanation: 0
    • Total: 8/12
  • Maurio:
    • Organization of Info: 4
    • Math Accuracy: 4
    • Explanation: 08/12
  • Joshua:
    • Organization of Info: 4
    • Math Accuracy: 0
    • Explanation: 0
    • Total: 4/12
  • Andrea D.:
    • Organization of Info: 4
    • Math Accuracy: 0
    • Explanation: 0
    • Total: 4/12

Initially I favored the 4-point rubric because I could easily categorize the work into “got it” or “didn’t get it” categories then re-categorize from there.  But, ultimately, I preferred the “amazing equations” rubric because they rationale for categorizing was more defined.  I believe that giving students more, specific feedback is more productive than a better overall grade.  This is always a learning experience (except on those high-stakes tests) and should be viewed as a way toward improvement.  The 4-point rubric could be improved by assigning numbers to specific expectations for improved feedback.

 

2 thoughts on “Student Assessment Using 4-Point Rubric

  1. After looking at how you rated these students, I think that I definitely need to loosen up on how I grade. I think I may have been a little harsh with some of these poor children!! I also think that I used the Amazing Equations Rubric incorrectly…ANYWAY. I definitely agree with your point of view about the rationale being more defined, with specific categories, and higher grades for the students. If I had used the Amazing Equations Rubric correctly(which I didn’t), then my analysis of the two rubrics would reflect this but unfortunately you may be a little confused reading my blog after reading this!! Sorry!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

