Getting Started

IMG_1644
Family Gathering 2014, Virginia Beach, VA

I’m Annette and this is my family.  I am a graduate student at UNCW and working to become an elementary school teacher.  I graduated from UNCW some time ago with a bachelors degree in Business Administration.  I love life near the beach and can’t imagine anything other than living in Wilmington, NC.

I grew up in Virginia Beach with three older brothers.  So, it’s only fitting that I have two sons.  David is in his first year of college and Matthew is a junior in high school.  My husband, Jim, and I met on a blind date, and we have been married for 25 years now …… we still love to spend time together ….. who knew.  We have a sweet 14 year old dachshund, and she is our “girl” in the family.  On the weekends, we like to go boating (the boys all fish but I just hang out).  I also like to read and cook.  I love to travel but hate to fly ….. so we usually vacation somewhere along the east coast.  I do fly when there isn’t the option of driving, but I have never gotten used to it or enjoyed it 😦  I work as a substitute teacher and often take long-term assignments.  This is what prompted me to go back to school and pursue teaching.  I LOVE working with the kids and every grade has something unique that I enjoy.

Math is awesome!  It makes sense, and we use it every day in our regular lives.  When it comes to learning mathematics, I feel slightly anxious.  When it comes to teaching mathematics, I feel nervous and ill-prepared.  Elementary school mathematics should be interesting.  And being good at math means that you understand the concepts behind what you are doing and are not just able to perform computations.  Good mathematics teachers make math interesting and fun in order to help students understand and learn.

This blog will document my journey into the art of teaching mathematics.  Wish me luck!

 

 

One thought on “Getting Started

Leave a Reply

